Friday, June 8, 2012
New Jersey is the only state where driving with pets loose in the car is a violation of animal cruelty law. Drivers cited for failing to properly secure their pet can face a ticket of between $250 and $1,000 and as much as six months in jail.
Pets hanging out the window, riding in the back of a truck or curling up on the driver’s lap are among ticketable offenses under the law.
Only a few other states are cracking down on pets in vehicles. Arizona, Connecticut and Maine can charge a driver for an unrestrained pet under distracted driving laws. Hawaii specifically prohibits driving with a pet in your lap.